Africas most charmed musical group Sauti Sol have returned with their fifth studio album, ‘Midnight Train’, released Friday 6th of June 2020 under Universal Music Group.

The 13-track album takes the listener through the journey of life, embracing the trials and tribulations that come with it.

The title track “Midnight Train”, produced by Andre Harris (Justin Bieber, Kanye West, Jill Scott), is a representation of the boy band’s never-say-die attitude. The song, is about their hustle and the effort they have put into their career, burning the midnight oil.

With many tribute, awards and global recognition, Sauti Sol has been soaring high, offering 4 critically acclaimed singles ahead of the album’s release.

Sauti Sol

The release of the rhythmic love jam ‘Suzanna’ set the stage for the album. ‘Disco Matanga’ featuring South Africa’s fast rising star Sho Madjozi and Black Motion enticed fans as the lead song from Netflix’s ‘Queen Sono’.

The uplifting ‘Brighter Days’ featuring the Soweto Gospel Choir gave hope at the beginning of the world pandemic and ‘Insecure’, their most recent release, explores the fear and insecurity that lies deep within.

“Singing in Swahili, Luhya, Luo and English, Sauti Sol prides themselves on storytelling as an East African tradition that permeates music from that region and this is what has kept them relevant with audiences across the world and earned them so many accolades along the way,” read the press release.

Album list:

  1. Intro
  2. Midnight Train
  3. Insecure
  4. Feel My Love
  5. Brighter Days ft. Soweto Gospel Choir
  6. Nenda Lote
  7. Suzanna
  8. Set Me Free (Interlude)
  9. My Everything ft.India Arie
  10. Wake Up ft. Mortimer
  11. Sober
  12. Rhumba Japani ft.Kaskazini, Bensoul, Xenia, Nviiri the Storyteller, Okello Max, NHP
  13. Disco Matanga (Yambakhana) ft. Black Motion & Sho Madjozi

About Author

Discover more from Pachatata Kenya

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading